Discovery president and CEO David Zaslav to be honored at Mirror Awards Ceremony June 4 in New York City

By Wendy Loughlin

March 4, 2014

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will host the eighth annual Mirror Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, June 4, from 11:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at Cipriani, 110 E. 42nd St., New York City. Follow on Twitter at #Mirrors14.

David Zaslav, president and CEO of Discovery Communications, will be honored with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award. Seven juried journalism awards will also be presented.



As chief executive, Zaslav sets the strategy and oversees all operations for the #1 pay-TV programmer in the world. Discovery Communications’ 190-plus TV networks reach 2.5 billion cumulative subscribers in over 220 countries and territories.

Zaslav has served as head of Discovery since 2007, executing a number of initiatives that have focused the organization on growth, performance and operational efficiency. He has also directed a strategic effort to clarify and strengthen Discovery’s world-class brands, including a renewed focus on creativity and a two-fold increase in investment in original content. In September 2008, under his leadership, Discovery began trading as a public company on the Nasdaq stock exchange.

Since Zaslav took the helm, Discovery has launched some of the fastest-growing cable networks in the U.S., including Investigation Discovery, Velocity and Destination America, and has premiered such iconic programming and award-winning specials as “Planet Earth” and “Skywire Live with Nik Wallenda.” The company also partnered with Oprah Winfrey to launch OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network and Hasbro to launch the Hub Network for children and families.

Also under Zaslav’s leadership, Discovery rolled out TLC as an international female-targeted flagship network, now available in more than 160 markets and the most widely distributed female-targeted entertainment and lifestyle channel brand in media.

Additionally, in 2013, Discovery expanded its international operations with the acquisition of SBS Nordics, a top-three portfolio of television brands across Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland that feature leading nonfiction content, as well as locally produced entertainment programs, sports and the best scripted series and movies from major studios. The company also forged a strategic partnership in Eurosport, one of the strongest pan-regional sports platforms in the world.

Zaslav also spearheaded Discovery Impact, the company’s corporate social responsibility programs, which leverage the power of Discovery’s brands, businesses and employees to give back and make a difference in the communities where they live and work through initiatives such as the annual Discover Your Impact Day of global employee volunteerism.

Prior to joining Discovery, Zaslav had a distinguished career at NBCUniversal, where he was instrumental in developing and launching CNBC and also played a role in the creation of MSNBC. He was previously an attorney with the New York firm of LeBouef, Lamb, Leiby & MacRae.

The Fred Dressler Leadership Award is given to individuals or organizations that have made distinct, consistent and unique contributions to the public’s understanding of the media. Past recipients include Anne Sweeney, co-chair of Disney Media Networks and president of Disney/ABC Television Group (2013); Brian Roberts, CEO of Comcast (2011); Bloomberg (2010); Arianna Huffington, co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post (2009); political journalist Tim Russert (posthumously, 2008); and Peter Bart, editor-in-chief of Variety (2007).

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. In addition to the special awards, juried awards will be presented in seven categories:

  • Best Single Article – Traditional/Legacy Media ($1,000 prize)
  • Best Single Article – Digital Media ($1,000 prize)
  • Best Single Story – Radio, Television, Cable or Online Broadcast Media ($1,000 prize)
  • Best Profile – Traditional/Legacy or Digital Media ($1,000 prize)
  • Best Commentary – Traditional Media ($1,000 prize)
  • Best Commentary – Digital Media ($1,000 prize)
  • John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting ($5,000 prize)

For information about ticket and table sales for the ceremony, contact Sarah Hope at 315.443.5711 or For media inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at 315.443.2785 or

Related 2014 Headlines

Winners in the eighth annual Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting were announced today at a ceremony in New York City, hosted by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. Gayle King, co-host of “CBS This Morning” and editor at large of O, the Oprah Magazine, emceed the event, which was […]

Read more

The S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University has announced that Steve Miron, chief executive officer of Bright House Networks; Tonia O’Connor ’92, president of content distribution and corporate business development at Univision Communications Inc.; and Melinda Witmer, executive vice president, chief video officer and COO of Time Warner Cable Networks, will serve […]

Read more

Gayle King, co-host of “CBS This Morning” and editor at large of O, the Oprah Magazine, will emcee the eighth annual Mirror Awards ceremony on June 4 in New York City. Hosted by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, the ceremony will include the presentation of seven juried journalism awards and two special […]

Read more

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the finalists in the 2014 Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on June 4, in New York City. The finalists, chosen from a pool of more than 350 entries by a group of journalists […]

Read more

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications is now accepting nominations for the eighth annual Mirror Awards honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Enter online; the application deadline is Feb. 14, 2014. Anyone may nominate, and there is no fee to enter.

Read more