About Newhouse

The S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University,  the nation’s leading communications school, is engaged in industry partnerships and multimedia curriculum development that prepare students and faculty alike to become leaders in today’s rapidly changing media landscape.

Dean Lorraine Branham, who came to Newhouse in 2008, has led the charge toward stronger industry connections and an emphasis on innovation and entrepreneurship in communications education and practice. Under her leadership, the school established the Center for Digital Media Entrepreneurship; the Peter A. Horvitz Endowed Chair in Journalism Innovation; and the W2O Group Center for Social Commerce. She also oversaw the development of a student-produced, web-based news magazine, The NewsHouse, as well as the creation of Newhouse’s sports communications emphasis and the Newhouse Sports Media Center. In addition, she was a driving force behind the establishment of the satellite campus programs Newhouse in New York and Syracuse University Los Angeles Semester. Most notably, she spearheaded an $18 million fundraising campaign for the renovation of Newhouse 2 and the creation of the Newhouse Studio and Innovation Center, which features Dick Clark Studios, the Alan Gerry Center for Media Innovation and the Diane and Bob Miron Digital News Center.

The Newhouse School embraces virtually every known form of information dissemination, from print and broadcast journalism to online communication to advertising and public relations to photography and film. The more than 60 faculty members come primarily from the profession, men and women for whom teaching is a top priority. Students are among the best in the nation, having secured a place in the class through a highly competitive admissions process. Upon graduation they become part of a large, loyal and highly accomplished group of alumni—individuals who are literally shaping the future of public communication across the globe.

Notable Newhouse alumni include Bob Costas, sportscaster for NBC and HBO Sports; Dennis Crowley, CEO and co-founder of foursquare; Anne Globe, chief marketing officer for Dreamworks Animation; Jeff Glor, anchor of CBS News’ “The Early Show”; Larry Kramer, president and publisher of USA TODAY; Beth Ann Kaminkow, president and chief executive officer at TracyLocke; Clint Clemens, internationally renowned commercial photographer; Lakshmi Singh, midday newscaster with NPR; and Danny Zuker, executive producer of ABC’s “Modern Family.”