About the Awards

The competition is open to anyone who conducts reporting, commentary or criticism of the media industries. Eligible work includes print, broadcast and online editorial content focusing on the development or distribution of news and entertainment.

Entries are evaluated based on excellence of craft, framing of the issue and appropriateness for the intended audience. Winners are chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators.

Winners and finalists are honored at an awards luncheon, held each June in New York City.

Award Prize

Best Single Article/Story


A carefully researched print, digital or broadcast (audio or video) piece of any length. Articles may include photos, videos, sidebars, audio and/or interactive elements in addition to the written piece. Regular features/columns, opinion pieces or film/television reviews should not be entered.

Best Profile


Any carefully researched and sourced piece covering a single person or organization noteworthy in the media industry. Excerpts from “three dot columns”/social notebook features or excerpts from books (unless the book was originally published in serial form in a periodical) should not be entered. These pieces can be print, radio, television or digital.

Best Commentary


A piece that demonstrates the writer’s overall knowledge of the issues, analytic skills and unique voice. Submissions may be published in print, online, broadcast or radio. This is the category for opinion, humor, columns, etc. Only one piece is required for submission (three pieces were required before this year).

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting


Digital, broadcast or traditional/legacy media may be entered. Entries may be a series of articles or a single, in-depth investigative article. Though not required, entries may cross platforms. Entries will be judged on the quality of the reporting and the importance of the story covered.