Newhouse School To Honor Excellence in Reporting on the Media

How does media impact our world – economically, socially, and politically?

The S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University believes media are vital economic engines, key players in democracy, and sculptors of cultural attitudes. That’s why the school will soon honor journalists who cover the media industry. The newly-created Mirror Awards will recognize the excellent work of reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold up a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

“Public support for the mass media is essential if the media are to retain their First Amendment freedoms in these challenging times,” said Newhouse Dean David Rubin. “The more the public knows about how and why the media function as they do, the more likely it is that public support can be built and maintained.”

Mirror Awards entrants can work in television, newspaper, magazine, radio, advertising, public relations, the Internet and other forms of content-rich digital communications. Specifically, eligible entries could have been published (print or online) or broadcast/cablecast in :

  • Consumer or trade magazines
  • Local and national newspapers
  • Local, national or syndicated radio and television features and programs
  • Online publications, blogs and websites.

The inaugural Mirror Award entries must have been published or broadcast/cablecast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2006. The deadline for entries will be mid-January 2007.

The first Mirror Awards ceremony is scheduled for late spring 2007 in New York City.

Individual awards will be given for:

  • Best Single Article
  • Best Coverage of Breaking Industry News
  • Best Profile
  • Best Subject-Related Series
  • Best Commentary

Editors or teams of writers may win awards for:

  • Excellence in Media Information Services
  • Overall Excellence

A Lifetime Achievement Mirror Award may also be given to an individual or organization.

For more information on the Newhouse School’s Mirror Awards, contact Jean Brooks, Assistant Director for Donor Relations/ Phone: (315) 443-5711 or E-mail:

Click here to read a interview with Dean David Rubin about the Mirror Awards.