Finalists announced

Twenty-nine finalists in six categories have been named in the third annual Mirror Awards. The competition drew nearly 140 entries. Fellow journalists and members of the media may vote for their favorites among the finalists by visiting Winners will receive the People’s Choice Award.

The media’s top writers, readers and leaders will gather to fete the Mirror Award winners at an awards ceremony in June in New York City. Ceremony details will be announced soon.

Finalists, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Due to a lack of response to the categories of Best In-depth Piece—Digital and Best Profile—Digital, entries in those categories were incorporated into other categories.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. Honorees are recognized for news judgment and command of craft in reporting, analysis and commentary on developments in the media industry and its role in our economy, culture and democracy.

For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or; or see