Newhouse School announces People’s Choice winners in third annual Mirror Awards competition

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the People’s Choice winners in the third annual Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting.

Of 170 entries in this year’s competition, 29 finalists were chosen in six categories. Fellow journalists and members of public were invited to view the finalists online and vote for their favorites in each category.

People’s Choice winners are:

A group of journalists and journalism educators will decide the Mirror Award winners, who will be recognized at a luncheon ceremony on Tuesday, June 9, at 11:45 a.m. at the Harmonie Club in New York City.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. Honorees are recognized for news judgment and command of craft in reporting, analysis and commentary on developments in the media industry and its role in our economy, culture and democracy.

For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or or see For media inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or