Huffington, Zaslav to serve as Mirror Awards luncheon co-chairs

Arianna Huffington, co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post, and David Zaslav, president and CEO of Discovery Communications, will serve as luncheon committee co-chairs for the fourth annual Mirror Awards luncheon ceremony.

The event will be held June 10, from 11:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at The Plaza Hotel, Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City. The luncheon will feature the presentation of seven juried awards for excellence in media industry reporting. CBS News’ Katie Couric will serve as emcee. Newhouse dean Lorraine Branham will host the event.

In addition to the juried awards, Bloomberg will receive the Fred Dressler Achievement Award and Twitter will receive the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence.

Paul E. Steiger, editor-in-chief and chief executive of ProPublica, will present the Dressler Award. Matthew Winkler, editor-in-chief of Bloomberg News, will accept the award for Bloomberg.

George Stephanopoulos, anchor of “Good Morning America” and chief political correspondent for ABC News, will present the i-3 award. Biz Stone, co-founder of Twitter, will accept the award for Twitter.

For information about sponsorship opportunities and online registration for the event, see the online registration form.

Members of the media who wish to attend and cover the event should contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or