Newhouse School announces winners in fourth annual Mirror Awards

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today presented seven awards at the fourth annual Mirror Awards luncheon honoring excellence in media industry reporting. The event, emceed by CBS News’ Katie Couric, was held this morning at The Plaza Hotel in New York City. Photographs are available online at

The winners, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Couric and Arianna Huffington, co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post, presented the awards.

In addition, the school honored Bloomberg with the Fred Dressler Achievement Award and Twitter with the the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence. Paul E. Steiger, editor-in-chief and chief executive of ProPublica, presented the Dressler Award. Matthew Winkler, editor-in-chief of Bloomberg News, accepted the award for Bloomberg. Terry Moran, co-anchor of ”Nightline“ and Supreme Court correspondent for ABC News, presented the i-3 award. Biz Stone, co-founder of Twitter, accepted the award for Twitter.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. Honorees are recognized for news judgment and command of craft in reporting, analysis and commentary on developments in the media industry and its role in our economy, culture and democracy. This year’s competition drew over 170 entries.

More information about the Mirror Awards, including photographs from the luncheon, is available online at or by contacting Wendy Loughlin at (315) 412-4522 or