Who will be the winners of this year’s Mirror Awards?

What were the big stories of 2010? Only ONE WEEK left to nominate your favorites in the fifth annual Mirror Awards competition! Nomination deadline is Feb. 10, 2011.

Sponsored by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, the awards honor excellence in media industry reporting. Nominations are being accepted online. Anyone can nominate, and there is no fee to enter.

This year’s awards categories include:

· Best Single Article, Traditional Media

· Best Single Article, Digital Media

· Best Profile, Traditional Media

· Best Profile, Digital Media

· Best Commentary, Traditional Media

· Best Commentary, Digital Media

· Best In-Depth Piece, Traditional Media

Entries are evaluated based on three criteria: Excellence of craft; framing of the issue; and appropriateness for the intended audience. All entries must have been published or broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2010. Winners are chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators. An awards ceremony will be held in June in New York City.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or mirror@syr.eduor visit mirrorawards.com. For press inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or wsloughl@syr.edu.