Nomination deadline extended to Feb.15; new Mirror Awards Blog launched

Nominate now for the fifth annual Mirror Awards honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Nomination deadline has been extended to Feb. 15, 2011.

In celebration of the fifth anniversary, the new Mirror Awards Blog launches today. Newhouse School bloggers will focus on developments in the media since the awards were established and what they predict for the future, in addition to recent examples of media industry coverage.

Sponsored by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, the Mirror Awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. Nominations are being accepted online at Anyone can nominate, and there is no fee to enter.

This year’s awards categories include:

· Best Single Article, Traditional Media
· Best Single Article, Digital Media
· Best Profile, Traditional Media
· Best Profile, Digital Media
· Best Commentary, Traditional Media
· Best Commentary, Digital Media
· Best In-Depth Piece, Traditional Media

Entries are evaluated based on three criteria: Excellence of craft; framing of the issue; and appropriateness for the intended audience. All entries must have been published or broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2010. Winners are chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators. An awards ceremony will be held in June in New York City.

The Mirror Awards were established by the Newhouse School in 2006. For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or or visit For press inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or