Mika Brzezinski and Joe Scarborough of MSNBC’s ‘Morning Joe’ to emcee awards ceremony

Mika Brzezinski and Joe Scarborough, co-hosts of MSNBC’s “Morning Joe,” will serve as emcees at the fifth annual Mirror Awards luncheon ceremony on Tuesday, June 7, from 11:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at The Plaza Hotel, Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City. The awards are sponsored by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. Dean Lorraine E. Branham will host the event.

For sponsorship levels, and to register, see the online registration form. Members of the media who wish to attend and cover the event should contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or wsloughl@syr.edu.

Prior to joining MSNBC in 2007, Brzezinski was an anchor of the “CBS Evening News Weekend Edition” and a CBS News correspondent who frequently contributed to “CBS Sunday Morning” and “60 Minutes.” Her memoir, “All Things At Once,” was a New York Times bestseller. Her second book, “Knowing Your Value,” examines the role of women in the workplace and the fight to gain recognition and a fair salary. It’s due out May 3.

Scarborough is a former Congressman (R-Fla.) and was the publisher and editor of the award-winning newspaper “The Florida Sun.” Before “Morning Joe,” he hosted “Scarborough Country,” a primetime news show the San Francisco Chronicle called “must-see TV.” He is the author of the New York Times bestseller “The Last Best Hope: Restoring Conservatism and America’s Promise” and “Rome Wasn’t Burnt in a Day.”

“Morning Joe” features interviews with top newsmakers and politicians and in-depth analysis of the day’s biggest stories. The New Yorker describes the show as “appallingly entertaining,” Time Magazine calls it “revolutionary” and the New York Times ranked it as the top news show of 2008.

The Mirror Awards luncheon ceremony will include the presentation of juried awards in seven categories:

• Best Single Article (Traditional Media)
• Best Single Article (Digital Media)
• Best Profile (Traditional Media)
• Best Profile (Digital Media)
• Best Commentary (Traditional Media)
• Best Commentary (Digital Media)
• Best In-Depth Piece (Traditional Media)

In addition, two special awards will be presented: the Fred Dressler Achievement Award to Comcast chairman and CEO Brian L. Roberts, and the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence to Foursquare co-founders Dennis Crowley ’98 and Naveen Selvadurai.

In celebration of the fifth anniversary, the Mirror Awards Blog was recently launched. Entries focus on developments in the media since the awards were established, what they predict for the future and recent examples of media industry coverage. A new entry is now available.

For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or mirror@syr.edu. For press inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or wsloughl@syr.edu.