Newhouse School announces winners in fifth annual Mirror Awards

The Newhouse School today presented seven awards at the fifth annual Mirror Awards luncheon honoring excellence in media industry reporting. The event, emceed by Joe Scarborough and Mika Brzezinski, co-hosts of MSNBC’s “Morning Joe,” was held this morning at The Plaza Hotel in New York City.

The winners, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:
 Best Single Article, Traditional Media: Gabriel Sherman, “Chasing Fox”  (New York Magazine)
 Best Single Article, Digital Media: Jim Hopkins, “All Shook Up” (Gannett Blog)
• Best Profile, Traditional Media: Ken Auletta, “The Networker” (The New Yorker)
• Best Profile, Digital Media: Joel Meares, “The Biggest Fish in Albany?” (Columbia Journalism Review)
• Best Commentary, Traditional Media: James Wolcott (Vanity Fair)
 Best Commentary, Digital Media: Eric Alterman (Center for American Progress)
• Best In-depth Piece, Traditional Media: Mary Van de Kamp Nohl, “Paper Money” (Milwaukee Magazine)

In addition, the school honored Brian L. Roberts, chairman and CEO of Comcast, with the Fred Dressler Achievement Award, and Dennis Crowley ’98 and Naveen Selvadurai, co-founders of Foursquare, with the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence. Jeffrey Bewkes, chairman and CEO of Time Warner Inc., presented the Dressler Award. Ralph Roberts, founder of Comcast and chairman emeritus of its board of directors, accepted the award on Brian Roberts’ behalf. Clay Shirky, new media expert and author of “Here Comes Everybody: The Power of Organizing Without Organizations,” presented the i-3 award.

Ron Meyer, president and chief operating officer of Universal Studios; Robert Miron, retired chairman of Advance/Newhouse Communications; and David Zaslav, president and CEO of Discovery Communications, served as luncheon co-chairs.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. Honorees are recognized for news judgment and command of craft in reporting, analysis and commentary on developments in the media industry and it