Finalists Announced

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the finalists in the sixth annual Mirror Awardscompetition honoring excellence in media industry reporting. The competition drew over 300 entries. Winners will be announced at a June 13 awards ceremony in New York.

Finalists, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Single Article, Traditional/Legacy Media

Best Single Article, Digital Media

Best Profile, Traditional/Legacy Media

Best Profile, Digital Media

Best Commentary, Traditional/Legacy Media

Best Commentary, Digital Media

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting

The awards ceremony will be held from 11:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at The Plaza Hotel, Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City. CNN’s Anderson Cooper will emcee the event. Information about sponsorship levels and registration is available online. Follow on Twitter via #Mirrors12.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or For press inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or