2012 Mirror Award winners announced

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications presented seven journalism awards today at the sixth annual Mirror Awards ceremony. The event, emceed by CNN’s Anderson Cooper, was held this morning at The Plaza Hotel in New York City.

The winners, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

  • Best Single Article, Traditional/Legacy Media: Adam Lashinsky, “How Apple works: Inside the world’s biggest startup” (Fortune)
  • Best Single Article, Digital Media: Rhonda Roland Shearer and Malik Ayub Sumbal, “Mrs. Bhutto’s Murder Anniversary Part 1: Troubling Double Standard, American photojournalism’s different treatment of foreign victims” (iMediaEthics)
  • Best Profile, Traditional/Legacy Media: Ken Auletta, “Changing Times” (The New Yorker)
  • Best Profile, Digital Media: Joe Pompeo, “The road ahead for The Huffington Post: Nine months and a merger later, ‘Capital-J Journalism’ is still a work in progress” (Capital New York)
  • Best Commentary, Traditional/Legacy Media: Anna Holmes, “The Disposable Woman”; “Anna Holmes on Donald Trump’s Sexism”; “The best TV criticism’s ink is pink, but powerful” (The New York Times, The Washington Post)
  • Best Commentary, Digital Media: Rebecca Traister, “The Soap Opera Is Dead! Long Live The Soap Opera!”; “30 Rock’ takes on feminist hypocrisy–and its own”; “Seeing ‘Bridesmaids’ is a social responsibility” (Salon, New York Times Magazine)
  • John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting: Peter Maass, “The Toppling” (The New Yorker and ProPublica)

Leo Hindery Jr., managing partner with InterMedia Partners, presented the Higgins Award, which was established this year by the Newhouse School in honor of the late Broadcasting & Cable reporter and funded by a gift from Discovery Communications and Time Warner Cable Inc. The award carries a $5,000 cash prize; the remaining journalism awards carry a $1,000 prize.

In addition, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation received the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence, presented by ABC’s George Stephanopoulos. Knight President and CEO Alberto Ibarg├╝en accepted the award.

Luncheon co-chairs were David Levy, president of sales, distribution and sports for Turner Broadcasting System; Melinda Witmer, executive vice president and chief video and content officer for Time Warner Cable; and David Zaslav, president and CEO of Discovery Communications.

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.