Winners announced in 2015 Mirror Awards competition

By Wendy S. Loughlin

Winners in the ninth annual Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting were announced today at a ceremony in New York City, hosted by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. Savannah Guthrie, co-anchor of “Today” and NBC News chief legal correspondent, emceed the event, which was held at Cipriani 42nd Street.

The winners, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Commentary

Best Profile

Best Single Article – Digital Media

Best Single Article – Traditional/Legacy Media

Best Single Story – Radio, Television, Cable or Online Broadcast Media

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting

In addition to the juried awards, special awards were presented to Josh Sapan, president and CEO of AMC Networks, who was honored with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award; and late New York Times media columnist David Carr, who was honored with the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence. Bill Persky ’53, award-winning director and producer, presented the Dressler Award. Dean Baquet, executive editor of The New York Times, offered a remembrance of Carr.

David Levy, president of Turner Broadcasting System Inc.; Steven Miron, CEO of Bright House Networks; and Melinda Witmer, executive vice president, chief video officer and COO of Time Warner Cable Networks, were luncheon co-chairs.

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.