Newhouse School announces finalists in 2017 Mirror Awards competition

By Wendy S. Loughlin

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the finalists in the 2017 Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony June 13 in New York City.

The finalists, selected by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Single Article/Story

Best Profile

Best Commentary

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

In addition to the juried awards, the Newhouse School will present the Fred Dressler Leadership Award and the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence at the award ceremony, which will be held Tuesday, June 13, from 11:30 a.m. to 2:15 p.m. at Cipriani 42nd Street, 110 E. 42nd St., New York City. Tickets and tables may be purchased online. Follow on Twitter at #Mirrors17.

For information about ticket and table sales for the ceremony, contact Amanda Griffin at 315.443.7982 or For media inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at 315.443.2785 or