NPR to be honored with i-3 award at Newhouse School’s Mirror Awards ceremony June 14

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will honor NPR with the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence at the 12th annual Mirror Awards ceremony June 14 in New York City. Event tickets and tables may be purchased online. Follow on Twitter at #Mirrors18.

Jarl Mohn, CEO of NPR, will accept the award. Robert Siegel, former senior host of NPR’s “All Things Considered,” will present.

NPR’s rigorous reporting and unsurpassed storytelling connect with millions of Americans every day—on the air, online and in person. NPR strives to create a more informed public—one challenged and invigorated by a deeper understanding and appreciation of events, ideas and cultures. With a nationwide network of award-winning journalists and 17 international bureaus, NPR and its member stations are never far from where a story is unfolding.

“NPR has remained a relevant, impactful media outlet for nearly 50 years, bringing in-depth, quality journalism to listeners even as the media industry has faced a tremendous upheaval,” says Newhouse Dean Lorraine Branham. “Today, it continues to play a valuable role in the lives of its longtime audience while also appealing to a younger generation of listeners through the use of podcasts and other media technologies. NPR’s story has and continues to be inspirational to journalists and students of journalism.”

At the ceremony, the Newhouse School will also honor renowned documentarian Sheila Nevins, executive producer and former president of HBO Documentary Films, with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award. Juried journalism awards will be presented in six categories. View the finalists>>

The Mirror Awards ceremony will be held Thursday, June 14, from 11:30 a.m. to 2:15 p.m. at Cipriani 42nd Street, 110 E. 42nd St., New York City. Tickets and tables may be purchased online.

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

For more information, contact Amanda Griffin at 315.443.7982 or Media inquiries should be directed to Wendy Loughlin at 315.443.2785 or