Newhouse School to honor 60 Minutes at Mirror Awards ceremony June 14

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will recognize CBS’ “60 Minutes” for 50 years of excellence in broadcast journalism at the 12th annual Mirror Awards ceremony June 14 in New York City. Event tickets and tables may be purchased online. Follow on Twitter at #Mirrors18.

Newhouse Dean Lorraine Branham will present the special recognition. Jeff Fager, executive producer, will accept for “60 Minutes.”

“60 Minutes” is the most successful American television broadcast in history. Offering hard-hitting investigative reports, interviews, feature segments and profiles of people in the news, the broadcast begun in 1968 is still a hit in 2018. “60 Minutes” makes Nielsen’s weekly Top 10 nearly every week and still averages about 12 million viewers. About a million more people listen to the “60 Minutes” radio simulcast in several major cities and on its companion podcast, and tens of thousands each week experience “60 Minutes” online.

At the ceremony, the Newhouse School will also honor renowned documentarian Sheila Nevins, executive producer and former president of HBO Documentary Films, with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award, and NPR with the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence.

Juried journalism awards will be presented in six categories. View the finalists>>

The Mirror Awards ceremony will be held Thursday, June 14, from 11:30 a.m. to 2:15 p.m. at Cipriani 42nd Street, 110 E. 42nd St., New York City. REGISTER NOW>>

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

For more information contact Amanda Griffin at 315.443.7982 or Media inquiries should be directed to Wendy Loughlin at 315.443.2785 or