Twitch to be honored with i-3 award at Mirror Awards ceremony June 13

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will honor Twitch with the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence at the 13th annual Mirror Awards ceremony June 13 in New York City.

The ceremony will be held from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. at Cipriani 42nd Street. Event tickets and tables may be purchased online.

Twitch is the leading service and community for multiplayer entertainment. Launched in 2011, it brings together a global community to create unique, live, unpredictable experiences through the interactions of millions. It brings the joy of co-op to everything, from casual gaming and esports to anime marathons, music and art streams. Twitch also hosts TwitchCon, the biggest community event of the year, where tens of thousands of people come together to celebrate and connect with others who share their interests and passions.

The i-3 award is given to individuals or organizations that have made a profound impact on the media landscape or have captured the public’s imagination about the potential or importance of the media in a unique way. Wim Stocks, CEO of WorldGaming and Collegiate StarLeague, will present the award. Mark “Garvey” Candella, director of strategic partnerships, will accept.

The Newhouse School will also honor Jeff Zucker, president of CNN Worldwide and chairman of WarnerMedia News and Sports, with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award. David Zaslav, president and CEO of Discovery Inc., will present the award.

Juried journalism awards will be presented in six categories. View the finalists>>

About the Mirror Awards

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

For more information, contact Amanda Griffin at 315.443.7982 or Media inquiries should be directed to Wendy Loughlin at 315.443.2785 or

Follow on Twitter at @MirrorAwards and #Mirrors19.