New York Times to be honored with i-3 award at Newhouse School’s Mirror Awards ceremony

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will honor The New York Times with the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence at the 11th annual Mirror Awards ceremony June 13 in New York City.

Arthur O. Sulzberger Jr., chairman of The New York Times Company and publisher of The New York Times, will accept the award. Dean Baquet, the paper’s executive editor, will present the award to Sulzberger.

The New York Times Company is a global media organization dedicated to enhancing society by creating, collecting and distributing high-quality news and information. The company includes The New York Times, and related properties. It is known globally for excellence in its journalism, and innovation in its print and digital storytelling and its business model.

“The New York Times is the ultimate example of traditional media, yet ‘the gray lady’ has expanded, innovated and remained relevant through continuous forays into non-traditional territory—web and mobile, video, virtual reality—all while maintaining the strict standards of high-quality journalism,” says Newhouse Dean Lorraine Branham. “The New York Times recognizes, evaluates and embraces the digital transformation of journalism to remain relevant in a constantly evolving landscape.”

At the ceremony, the Newhouse School will also honor legendary journalist Tom Brokaw with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award, and present juried journalism awards in four categories.

The Mirror Awards ceremony will be held Tuesday, June 13, from 11:30 a.m. to 2:15 p.m. at Cipriani 42nd Street, 110 E. 42nd St., New York City. “Today” show contributing correspondent Jenna Bush Hager will serve as master of ceremonies. Tickets and tables may be purchased online. Follow on Twitter at #Mirrors17.

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

For information about ticket and table sales for the ceremony, contact Amanda Griffin at 315.443.7982 or For media inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at 315.443.2785 or